muddy footsteps

Roasted Chipotle Pepper Cobs

Posted in dinner, Food & Recipes, gluten-free, Health/Nutrition, lunch, Photography, Uncategorized by nicolejanaye on September 24, 2012

20120924-155513.jpg

I recently got an abundance of local produce. I try to incorporate different cooking methods with my ingredients so that I have a large variety of meals that I can eat throughout the week. I strongly believe the importance of consuming raw vegetables and fruits because of their nutritional stats and health benefits. Because of this, I try and juice at least once a day to ensure that I receive plenty of enzymes to keep my body running in tip top order! But I also realize that roasting vegetables brings out so much flavor and can transform a dish from bland to mouthwatering. Cauliflower, broccoli, red onion, and asparagus are my favorite vegetables to coat in coconut oil and roast in the oven. It’s an amazing dish to add to a diet/lifestyle, but this shouldn’t be your only method of consuming vegetables. The third method of cooking I tend to use a lot is steaming. Broccoli, green beans and artichokes tend to find their way into the steamer in my kitchen. Health wise it’s more beneficial than zapping in the microwave or roasting in the oven. I tend to steam vegetables if I’m eating them with other ingredient as one meal. For instance, my Buddha bowl would incorporate steamed vegetables, quinoa, and baked tofu. I mix it all together and place in a bowl. I tend to roast vegetables when I eat them alongside other ingredients. But it’s all your own taste! As long as you incorporate raw/cooked vegetables into your diet/lifestyle, it doesn’t really matter which way you eat it.

20120924-160830.jpg
It’s funny to me that I write about vegetables when I’m posting a recipe on roasted corn. I guess it’s a vegetable but honestly I look at it as a starch and eat it as a carbohydrate. Either way, these roasted cobs are mouthwatering and need to be the next thing you make.

Ingredients
-cobs
-smoked bourbon sea salt (plain sea salt will work also)
-roasted chipotle peppers (I prefer to roast my own, but you can buy them)
-garlic cloves
-coconut oil
-salt & pepper
-garlic & onion powder
-red chili flakes

20120924-162240.jpg

Directions
1. Stick two cobs (with husk on) in the microwave and cook for 2 minutes.
2. Remove from the microwave and slice off the butt of the cob. Make a slice in the side of the husk and peel off completely.

20120924-162026.jpg
3. Cut each cob in half and place in a large bowl.
4. Mix the rest of your ingredients together, then coat and rub down your cobs.
5. Place on a baking sheet covered in parchment paper and roast for 30 minutes at 400.

These roasted cobs would be incredible with a creamy dip alongside. I would recommend some kind of dairy/tofu/soy based cooling dip. These suckers are spicy so the creamy sauce will pair perfectly on your taste buds! Personally, I would make a dip with tofu as the base. Play with your ingredients and see if you can come up with the perfect sauce.

Enjoy!

Tagged with: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

