muddy footsteps

Hate it or Love it

Posted in Breakfast, Dessert, Food & Recipes, Uncategorized by nicolejanaye on July 16, 2012

..or possibly neither are an option for you. I’m talking about rice cakes. For some strange reason, I’ve developed a liking to them and my palate for rice cakes are enjoying them. They have a minimal amount of ingredients and they are a great vehicle for sauces, spreads, and well..practically anything.

They’re not the first thing I reach for when I make a meal, but they suit my fancy when I’m craving some carbs and want something with a bit more substance. For breakfast, try spreading almond butter, sliced bananas and flax seeds on top. For a treat you can spread melted dark chocolate, a little greek yogurt, sliced strawberries, and a sprinkle of chia seeds on a cake. For a small meal I like to add homemade smashed black beans, hummus, red onion, and any other vegetable that I find in the fridge.

Honestly the variety of meals, dishes and treats you can come up with are endless. Rice cakes don’t have to be bland. Add a little zing, flavor, and spread and you can turn them into something great. They’re cheap, easy to carry and you can find them at practically any supermarket.

This cake was somewhat of a last minute idea. I was at Mother’s Market in Costa Mesa and I put together my own mix of veggies from the salad bar. I topped it on a tamari and seaweed rice cake and wallah!

This was the same tamari & seaweed rice cake but it was topped with an olive and tomato tapenade, avocado, fresh basil and a sprinkle of sea salt.

What meals and treats can you come up with a rice cake? Do you hate it or love it?

Tagged with: ,

Leave a Reply

