muddy footsteps

Spaghetti squash and easy snacks for kids.

Posted in Food & Recipes, Health/Nutrition, lunch by nicolejanaye on January 21, 2012

I’m trying to get back into the blogging scene.

Instagram swept me off my feet. I was hooked from the first moment I laid eyes on him. We jumped the gun and tied the knot at the classy Vegas side strip. It’s been complete bliss since then, but I feel he is lacking some content. Maybe it’s the miscommunication, or the fact that one picture in his deep, brown eyes just aren’t enough for me. I need more.

Alright, enough of the goofiness. Truth be told, I got called out. I haven’t been the best at updating the blog and some friends of mine have noticed. (Yes, you Bre 😀 ) I’m here for the readers, to show some great food and tell you all about it.

For starters, here is what I came up with today. It’s simple, healthy and very tasty. The ingredients are minimal and it fills a craving that many people have. Spaghetti squash has a similar look to pasta and is easily replicable to any spaghetti dish. Whether you smear it with marinara, top it with pesto or simply add olive oil and salt to your dish, it’s going to taste great.

Ingredients

  • Spaghetti squash
  • 1-2 tbs olive oil
  • 1/4 tsp red pepper flakes
  • 1/4 tsp kosher salt
  • 1/8 tsp black pepper

Directions

  1. Pre-heat the oven to 375.
  2. Cut the squash in half lengthwise. Place the cut-side down on a baking sheet and fill the sheet with water until it rises 1 inch on the squash.
  3. Bake in the oven for 45-55 minutes.
  4. Scrape the inside of the squash with a fork to remove the ‘spaghetti’.
  5. Place in a bowl with the remaining ingredients and toss until the ‘spaghetti’ is completely coated.

Along with the spaghetti squash, a vegetable wrap and glass of cranberry kombucha made its way to my kitchen table. Ezekiel has a wonderful brand of sprouted bread and wraps that they have created. They aren’t gluten-free but they do have a great list of ingredients in them that not only provides that satisfying carb craving, but is equally healthy for your stomach. If I’m on the go and in a hurry, I’ll slap some hummus and chia seeds on a wrap, fold it up and stuff it in a lunch box with some carrots and walnuts. Before I head to the gym, I’ll smear some almond butter on one side and roll it up. It’s great for kids, easy to eat and tastes great. Tofutti cream cheese or smart balance butter with a sprinkle of cinnamon and ginger is another great idea for a spread when you are thinking of snack ideas for kids.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. VogueVegetarian said, on January 22, 2012 at 1:14 am

    Your photographer is beautiful! I always for forget about cooking squash this way. You made it look so great that I am going to have to try this again.

    • muddyfootsteps said, on January 22, 2012 at 1:15 am

      Thank you dearly. I always forget about cooking it this way also! It’s a good reminder for me to buy some more the next time I’m at the store.

  2. Jessica Nazarali (@JessicaNazarali) said, on January 24, 2012 at 3:58 pm

    What a great idea to replace traditional pasta! My favourite pasta recipe at the moment is http://livehealthysimply.com/2011/12/dairy-free-pesto-pasta/ but I’m sure it would taste great with “Spaghetti” squash!


Leave a Reply

