muddy footsteps

Chocolate Fudge Pie

Posted in Dessert, exercise, Food & Recipes, Health/Nutrition by nicolejanaye on November 20, 2011

The holidays are creeping around the corner. This means time spent with the family, memories to be photojournalisticaly documented, and forks digging into all the rich, decadent food. The nipply, bone-chilling weather tends to push the crowds indoors huddled against a fire with repeated comforting movies on the tv. A mug of coffee or hot chocolate for the kiddos isn’t rare to find during these winter months.

My family during our reunion last weekend.

This is all so wonderful and a favorite time spent for many people, however, it also goes hand in hand with the freshmen 15 gained during the first year of college. The weather gets too chilly for people to run outdoors, the food is peaked at its highest caloric density, and exercise and health seem to drop in priorities. This isn’t to say that you can’t spend quality time with family during the holidays or even dig in to some delicious treats, but there is a more efficient way of doing it that will keep you fit and fierce throughout the holidays.

First things first, a reachable goal is best to keep you motivated and healthy during these tough months. Recently, I read an article on Runner’s World about a Holiday Running Streak. What better way to stay motivated than set a goal of running every-single day from Thanksgiving to New Years. It can be indoors, outdoors, 8 miles or even 1. It’s something to keep you motivated and determined to stay healthy through the holidays. For me, when I’m feeling tired, lazy, or craving some guilty treats I try to head outside for a run to help push aside those negative cravings. 9 times out of 10 I come back ditching my original thoughts and head for something healthy. If I still crave something sweet, then heck, I’ll give myself a treat. But making a goal with the Holiday Running Streak is a commitment to myself that I will stay healthy and in shape during the holidays. Who’s with me?! If you’re in the twitter loop, #RWRunStreak is the hashtag to keep your followers updated and motivated to get out and get healthy.

One big hurdle for most people during the holidays are the desserts. They’re hard to resist, tend to be homemade from relatives (guilt trip to caving in) and so rich and chocolately. I understand that the holidays aren’t year round (wouldn’t that be nice) , so most people like to dig in and enjoy, normally wiping out all the calories burnt in your morning workout plus adding an additional 300. Well what if I said you could fill your sweet tooth and keep your slim figure? Your ears perked yet?

Let me introduce you to this mouth-watering, delicious dessert.

Chocolate Fudge Pie. It’s thick, fudgey, rich and sweet in oh so many ways. Best thing about it, it’s so much healthier than any chocolate fudge pie you can find at the market or most recipes online. This recipe is filled with fiber, antioxidants, and plenty of protein. What’s more not to like?

Ingredients

Crust:

  • 1 cup whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1 cup almond flour
  • 1/3 cup water; ice-cold
  • 1/4 cup almond meal
  • 1/4 cup vanilla soy yogurt
  • 1/4 cup canola oil
  • 4 packets stevia*
  • 1 tablespoon flax-seed meal
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt

Filling:

  • 1 package of firm tofu
  • 1 1/2 cups chocolate chips
  • 2 tablespoons non-dairy milk
  • 2 packets stevia
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 1 teaspoon cocoa powder
  • 1/8 teaspoon kosher salt

*I’ve been switching up original sugar with stevia lately. I’ve heard some people don’t care for the flavor but it works for me and I feel happier with my sweeter decision. I find that I can use much less stevia than traditional sugar. I found a wonderful website  that has a conversion chart for sugar to stevia. If you decide to switch up your sweetener, I would recommend checking this site out.

Directions

Pre-heat at 395.

Crust:

  1. Combine all dry ingredients in a food processor.
  2. Add wet ingredients and process until fully combined.
  3. Take half the dough and mold into a smooth ball with your hands.
  4. Take a long sheet of plastic wrap and spread across a smooth surface.
  5. Place the dough ball in the center of the plastic wrap and top with an additional, equal-sized plastic wrap sheet.
  6. Press the ball gently down with your hands and form into a small circle. Take a rolling-pin and gently roll out the dough until you have a desired crust size. I like to do mine fairly thin. The plastic wrap is a trick my dad learned when taking a cooking class. It makes the process so much easier and uses no excess flour to roll out the dough.
  7. Place the dough into your pie mold and press against the bottom and sides making sure not to tear the dough.
  8. Add parchment paper and ceramic pie weights or dried beans on top of the pie.
  9. Cook crust covered for 10-12 minutes
  10. Uncover and cook for 5-10 minutes until you achieve a golden crust.
  11. Let cool.

Filling:

  1. Melt the chocolate chips on the stove top or in the microwave.
  2. Combine melted chocolate with the remaining ingredients in a food processor.
  3. Process until smooth.
  4. Pour into pie crust and let chill in the fridge for an hour. It can be eaten within an hour or so, but I recommend letting it sit overnight. It firms up into a wonderful chocolate fudge consistency.

I can’t take credit of this pie without the incredible influence of Katie from Chocolate Covered Katie and Kathy from Lunch Box Bunch. Not only are these two women incredible in the culinary field, but they are making meals, digging into them and sharing recipes in the kindest manner; being vegan. Katie’s website is truly what it says; chocolate covered. It’s a dessert blog with a healthy twist. She shares a plethora of recipes that you can bet are all incredible. I tried out her chocolate fudge pie and was instantly hooked. If you are looking for desserts and want to keep them on the healthier side, head over her way. Kathy shares an endless amount of vegan meals, inspiring interviews as well as ideas for meatless-mondays. The photographs posted on her website kick your taste buds into hyper gear. If you’re hungry, bored, or need a good meal to make, no doubt you can find a great one on her site. I found one of my favorite websites through her blog, Finding Vegan, which coincidentely is creating by Kathy herself. It showcases mouth-watering recipes on the homepage with direct links to the recipe and the blog. I’d recommend giving it a look.

I have to admit that mid-way through writing this post I creeped into the kitchen and ate one or 8 bites of this pie. It is so much better than I thought. It’s been in the fridge since yesterday and has been able to firm up. The flavors are stronger and work so well together. I have to say that this has been my best dessert I’ve made to date. Best because the flavors are incredible, the pie is thick and rich, and the guiltless pleasure you can partake in as you find your way digging in with chocolate and crumbs covering your face.

I had extra dough for one pie so I made one more pie crust and two small tartlets. You can use the extra dough to make a thicker crust, or cut it into fun shapes and add on top of the pie, or make a lattice design on the top of your dessert like an apple pie. Have fun and experiment with ideas. I added raspberries and made a raspberry liquor sauce to drizzle on top. I’ll save that for another post.

What’s your favorite holiday dessert? Write a comment below and I will pick the best one and veganize it with a healthy twist!

Tagged with: , , ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. hhj92 said, on November 20, 2011 at 7:25 pm

    beautiful photography and yummy looking pie 😉


Leave a Reply

