muddy footsteps

Veggie Lentil Bowl- 5 Ingredients

Posted in Food & Recipes, gluten-free, Health/Nutrition by nicolejanaye on November 17, 2011

It’s been a while and what better way to end a blogging fast than by introducing a new recipe. I’ve been hooked on lentils lately, not just because their filling qualities or their endless food combinations but the amount of nutrients stored in these small pods.

I’ve been introducing a variety of vegetables and grains to the lentils to produce different meals to keep my taste buds constantly entertained. The most common players are quinoa, sun-dried tomatoes, and tofu. Tonight was a great combination that was full of nutrients, flavor, satiety, and energy for my late night workout.

This dinner is much easier than you would assume, cheap to make, and uses only 5 ingredients! Let’s dig in.

 

Veggie Lentil Bowl

  • 1/4 tsp kosher/sea salt
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1/4 cup sun-dried tomatoes
  • 1 cup dried lentils; cooked
  • 8 large brussel sprouts; quartered

Directions:

  1. Soak lentils in water while you prepare the pot to cook them. Bring 4 cups of water to a boil in a large pot (with a lid). Rinse lentils and add to the pot. Continue the boil for 2 minutes and then reduce to a simmer. After a few minutes, take the lid off and simmer for an additional 10-20 minutes.
  2. Add oil to a skillet and heat on the stove top. Add chopped brussel sprouts and a little bit of water. Cover and let cook on medium heat for 2-4 minutes. Remove the lid and continue cooking until brussel sprouts get a golden color on some of the sides, but remain green on the majority of the vegetable.
  3. Combine brussel sprouts, cooked lentils, sun-dried tomatoes and salt to a bowl and mix.

I enjoy drizzling balsamic vinegar on top to further enhance the flavors and give the meal a unique twist. If you think you’re not a fan of brussel sprouts, try roasting them. Experiment with other ingredients. Add garlic, quinoa, and carrots. Try making a breakfast bowl by combining tofu, spinach, and roasted walnuts. Enjoy!

 

 

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Bre said, on November 29, 2011 at 3:26 pm

    Hi there.. I found you from the Tone IT Up facebook page. I tried cooking lentils the other day.. they were hard after an hour. (The Brown regular lentils.. yours seems light in color). Anyway, my question is: do you season the lentils? or just eat them plain?

    • muddyfootsteps said, on November 29, 2011 at 6:30 pm

      Hey! Lentils are an excellent source of protein and fiber. I cook my lentils two different ways. Sometimes I prefer them a bit more undercooked and hard for things like salads. If I’m putting them in a scramble, soup or just eating them plain I normally make them softer. Either way I always soak the lentils. It helps remove the bitter outer shell. Soak them for 15 minutes to overnight. I usually add garlic powder, onion powder and a sprinkle of sea salt. I also like to add spices like cayenne and red chili peppers. I like to use spices and herbs instead of the traditional salt and pepper. To be honest, sometimes I’ll make the lentils (a little undercooked so they have a bite to them), sprinkle a little sea salt and add sun-dried tomatoes. I put it all in a bowl and dig in 🙂 You can use them in complex dishes or just have them very simply. Let me know what you try out!


Leave a Reply

