muddy footsteps

Three sinful bites

Posted in Dessert by nicolejanaye on October 29, 2011

I have to admit, it’s not a common occurrence when I crave sugary candy, creamy desserts, and spoonfuls of melted chocolate. I mean, I’m not chewing on bark all day long,  but I stay pretty satisfied with the meals that I make. However, there are just sometimes when you need to dig into something a little sinful.

With Halloween around the corner, this dessert and my craving seemed to fit right into place. Chocolate was the only thing on my mind and the first thing on my plate. I propped open the fridge and began searching for well fit ingredients. Some type of nut butter sounded right for the job. I didn’t care for the peanut butter in the fridge and it just seemed too typical for this dessert. I needed something a bit more unique. I’m a big fan of almond butter, but I didn’t have any at the moment. I’ve been working my way through a jar of sesame tahini and figured that would suit this dessert just wonderfully.

As many of my readers know, I have this fascination with salted..well..anything. I think a little sprinkle of sea salt can do wonders for a dish. What’s slightly funny is that I use very little salt in most of my dishes, but when I use it, I make it count.

Back to the dessert. A dark chocolate cup was the starting point for this sinful bite. Layering sesame tahini, bananas, and sea salt was the simple works of this dessert. Two layers up and the tahini begins to drool off the sides of the chocolate. As your mind starts going numb, your thoughts becoming blank, I will say all you need to do is grab and bite. Yes. Put the whole shot in your mouth. Close your eyes and savour each and every flavor.

Repeat 3 more times.

Leave a Reply

