muddy footsteps

My Perfect Veggie Burger

Posted in Food & Recipes, gluten-free, Health/Nutrition, lunch by nicolejanaye on October 26, 2011

Today marks ‘Day One’ of better time management. I came home from school today heading straight for my room to clear all the clutter, do laundry, and clean up the bathroom. Down to the kitchen to grab a spoonful of almond butter. Eating a bit of healthy fats gives me an extra push to keep my body moving. I know fats are great and essential for our bodies, but you should take that natural energy it provides and put it to good use. My goal was to add this incredible, delicious recipe on the blog and then suit up in gym gear and get some serious sweating on.

I have a fairly decent list of food bloggers that I choose to follow. Some I follow because their page is an absolute inspiration and their photos are magnificent in a way that you crave to have them printed and mounted on your wall. They write with such beauty that you would assume they’re coming out with a novel in the coming months. Regardless of the look of some blogs, these ladies or gentlemen create mouth-watering recipes that are not only healthy but unique and tasty. I do admit that not all the blogs I follow are vegan, or vegetarian for that matter. But for the reason I initially mentioned, their blogs are beautiful and the work they portray is what inspires me to keep pushing towards my future.

One of the bloggers that I have been following for quite some time is Angela Liddon at OhSheGlows . She writes a healthy vegan blog where she not only gives the reader recipe updates almost everyday, but talks about the struggles she went through in the past, how she overcame them, and the wonderful events she keeps active in her life today. It’s not surprising when you check on her website throughout the week and see a complete new set of blog posts as well as numerous recipes that she has been concocting in her kitchen. These recipes are good. They are healthy. They make you feel satisfied and can please both vegans and non-vegans alone. Angela knows what she is doing.

One dish that I’ve been meaning to get to for a long time now was veggie burgers. As you can see on her post, Our Perfect Veggie Burger, Angela and her husband are fairly picky on what is in the burgers, the texture, the taste and different ways of cooking them. Like I said, she has it down.

My moms birthday gave me a great excuse to get in the kitchen and get these burgers flipping! I showed my mom Angela’s website a while back and her veggie burgers stood out to both of us. My mom has been kicking and screaming asking me nicely to make the burgers. Finally the day was here and I headed to Henry’s to grab some extra ingredients that I needed. I altered Angela’s recipe just a bit because my mom has celiac disease, leaving her unable to process and consume gluten. Not only did I adjust the breadcrumbs but I changed up the flour as well. I had oats at home, but no processor to grind them into flour. For some reason, I couldn’t find gluten-free oat flour at the store so I took an alternative, garbanzo bean flour. Not only is it gluten-free, but it’s higher in protein than the oat flour. I was just hoping it would provide the same texture in the burgers. I also made sweet potato and regular potato frieds to pair with the burger.

I graciously thank Angela for creating a wonderful veggie burger recipe to inspire me to make these gluten-free veggie burgers for my family and I. Thanks Angela! This is her recipe, I just made a couple tweaks to fit my dietary needs. You can find what her burgers look like at her website.

Yields: 8 burgers

Ingredients:

  • 1.5 tsp chili powder
  • 1 tsp. cumin
  • 1 tsp. oregano
  • Kosher salt & black pepper
  • 1 tbsp Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • 1 tbsp Tamari (soy sauce) ; gluten-free
  • 1 large garlic clove, minced
  • Flax eggs: 2.5 tbsp ground flax + 1/2 cup warm water, mixed in bowl
  • 1/4 cup parsley; chopped
  • 1/3 cup almonds; toasted and chopped
  • 1/2 cup sunflower seeds; toasted
  • 1/2 cup onion; diced
  • 1 cup carrots; grated
  • 1 cup black beans; cooked, rinsed, and mashed
  • 1 cup garbanzo bean flour
  • 1 1/2 cup gluten-free bagel chips. I used Glutino GF bagel chips, orignal flavor. I poured them into a zip lock bag and smashed them with a large pot. You can use a rolling-pin as well. This mixture will replace the breadcrumbs in the original recipe

Directions:

1. In a large skillet, sauté onions and garlic in 1/2 tbsp oil. Mix your flax egg together in a small bowl and set aside for at least 10 mins while you prepare the rest of the ingredients.

2. Place all ingredients (except spices and salt) into a large mixing bowl and stir very well. Now, add seasonings and salt to taste.

3. With slightly wet hands, shape dough into patties. Pack dough tightly as this will help it stick together. I made 8 medium patties.

4. Heat up the other 1/2 tbsp of EVOO in your skillet. Cook the burgers 5 minutes on each side.

The last bit is up to your imagination. Build your better burger with a variety of ingredients. I added lettuce, tomato, hummus, and mustard to my veggie burger and topped it off with gluten-free buns. I sautéed the buns in garlic ‘butter’ . Mix Smart Balance butter with diced garlic and microwave for 30 seconds. Rub this mixture on the buns and drop into a skillet. Heat up until the buns have turned a golden color. Serve this at your next BBQ and impress all your friends at how tasty a healthy burger can be!

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Jennifer said, on October 27, 2011 at 12:24 pm

    These look incredible – so thick & juicy!

  2. Jana said, on November 9, 2011 at 6:38 pm

    Do you use Sami’s buns? They are the best I have found and I’ve had no problem eating them. From a bakery in FL. I can’t wait to try this recipe, looks great. Thanks!

    • muddyfootsteps said, on November 17, 2011 at 8:28 pm

      I never tried that brand before! I generally don’t eat carbs other than naturally from fruits and veggies, but on special occasions I’ll have some. I had this one for my mom’s birthday. She is celiac so it’s gluten-free. Is Sami’s gf? Let me know if you make them! I would love to see how yours turned out!


Leave a Reply

