muddy footsteps

Sprouted Veggie Wraps

Posted in Food & Recipes, lunch by nicolejanaye on September 30, 2011

I’m laying in bed right now, letting round two of these incredible sprouted veggie wraps digest in my stomach. Once I feel the stomach is ready for some intermediate action, then I’ll clip on my reflector belt, slip on my running shoes and hit the hills hard.

Since returning from Italy, I haven’t signed up for a gym membership yet. I checked out one the other day right around the corner from my house that looks promising. I’m not too picky when it comes to gyms. I’ve been a member at high-end clubs, and as much as I can agree that they are nice, I don’t need it all.

In the meantime of getting back into shape without keeping to the indoors, I’ve been doing a lot of running, especially night running. My days are filled with school and work and running at night has been fitting in perfectly with my schedule. I tend to have plenty of energy, it’s cool outside, and it ends my day on a positive note. No matter what day I went through, the people I encountered, or anything negative that could come my way, night runs always make me feel great.

Earlier today two of my good friends came over to catch up. We walked to the local Coffee Bean and Tea Leaf to grab some drinks and hang out for a while. After a few hours of catching up, they headed home and I headed to the grocery store. I saw a photo of a veggie wrap in Jamba Juice when we walked by that inspired me to get creative with lunch and break out from my traditional salads.

I threw on my backpack and peddled my way to Henry’s. I grabbed Braggs Raw Apple Cider Vinegar, not necessarily for this meal, but I needed it for other dishes and drinks I use in the kitchen. Alfalfa Sprouts found their way into my bag as well. I was searching in the ‘Wrap’ department and nothing stood out to me. All the Multi-grain claims, and high-fiber wraps are a complete scam in nutritional terms. If you flip those suckers over and read the long list of ingredients, you’re bound to find they aren’t quite what they claim, and you might recognize only half the ingredients. Save your money for high quality ingredients that will fill you up with the right nutrients.

I assumed their must be something better than these wraps. I headed into the freezer section and found Ezekiel Sprouted wraps! Amazing and exactly what I was looking for. Not only is the list of ingredients minimal, but they are all organic and raw. Ingredients: Organic Sprouted Whole Wheat, Filtered Water, Organic Unhulled Sesame Seeds, Organic Sprouted Whole Soybeans, Organic Sprouted Whole Barley, Organic Sprouted Whole Millet, Organic Sprouted Whole Lentils, Organic Sprouted Whole Spelt, Sea Salt. You can’t get much better than that when it comes to a store-bought wrap.

So these wraps were the big staple to today’s lunch and dinner. I stuffed them with: hummus, alfalfa sprouts, tomatoes, cucumbers, red and orange bell peppers, spinach, lentils, quinoa, black pepper and a dash of kosher salt. For a thin sauce, I mixed yellow mustard, raw apple cider vinegar, black pepper, cumin, curry and cayenne. I drizzled it throughout the wrap and gobbled it all down.

These will definitely find their way into my lunches throughout the week. I can make them the night before, wrap them in parchment paper, cut them down the middle and have a filling, healthy main course for lunch.

 What kind of wraps do you like to use? Try buying wraps that have a minimal amount of ingredients for a healthier dish.

Tagged with: , , , , ,

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. hhj92 said, on October 4, 2011 at 9:27 am

    I’m obsessed with Ezekiel sprouted wraps. I haven’t had them in quite a while and this made me remember how nutrient packed they are 🙂 Btw this wrap looks incredibly tasty!

    • muddyfootsteps said, on October 25, 2011 at 4:09 pm

      Yes! I just discovered them. My next goal is to make my own. I don’t think it will be all that difficult. I just need to use my dehydrator and sprout some legumes and beans! Thanks for the compliment 🙂

  2. Dawn said, on October 5, 2011 at 11:08 am

    Lately I’ve been using brown rice wraps because my daughter can eat them but I do love the Ezekiel for myself. Veggie wraps are one of my favorite things so I had to stop by and take a look after seeing the photo on Finding Vegan.

    • muddyfootsteps said, on October 25, 2011 at 4:10 pm

      Ezekiel has been a great discovery. I used to eat the Ezekiel bread but I’ve been cutting back on bread, so this wrap I found was a great alternative. Brown rice is amazing!


Leave a Reply

