muddy footsteps

Raw Vegan Cowgirl Ranch Dressing

Posted in Food & Recipes, lunch by nicolejanaye on August 23, 2011

I’ve seen all the hype. I’ve read all the recipes about it. But for some reason, it has never hit my palate quite right. Kale. I’m not sure if it was a bad batch I tried or I followed the recipes wrong but kale never seemed to agree with me. Dehydrated kale chips were and still are the big raw vegan crave going around. I decided to give them a try and I ended up with something that was semi-good, but not quite there. I plan on trying them out again. If you’re reading and have an amazing recipe for them, I would be so grateful for you to send them my way!

I’m not sure if it’s the post-vacation detox hitting me or if I was willing to give these suckers another chance. Either way, I’m happy I did. Kale is a power house of nutrition, filled with Vitamin C, A, K, antioxidants, detoxifying qualities and a huge supply of beneficial enzymes, vitamins, and minerals.

Today I was craving something filling but also extremely satisfying for the maintenance system working hard inside my body. I combined romaine lettuce, spinach and a large handful of kale with a fresh tomato, red pepper, sun-dried tomatoes and walnuts. I was foraging through the cupboard to make a dressing, but was growing tired of my usual oil and vinegar dressing. I remembered that I had some lovely raw cashews soaking for a couple of hours. Soaking cashews opens many windows for vegan recipes. Blending these raw, soaked cashews provides a sincerely creamy texture with a blank slate where you can turn this nut into anything imaginable.

I decided to use it for my salad dressing. It’s creamy like ranch, but has a bit of a kick; makes you want to yeeeeha!

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup cashews; soaked
  • 4 tbsp raw apple cider vinegar
  • 2 tbsp water
  • 1/2 tsp minced garlic
  • 1/4 tsp onion powder
  • 1/4 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1/8 tsp black pepper
  • pinch of kosher salt
  • juice of 1 small lemon

Simply combine and blend all of the ingredients in a food processor or blender. Drizzle on top of a kale salad or any salad for that matter. It’s a delicious dressing that’s incredibly easy to make and good for you too!

What’s your favorite recipe for kale? Do you like it/hate it? Tell me!

Tagged with: , , , , , ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Danielle Thomas said, on October 8, 2013 at 7:53 pm

    Really glad I stumbled upon this. Inventive salad dressings are surprisingly hard to find. Looking forward to trying it out


Leave a Reply

