muddy footsteps

Good To Be Back

Posted in Breakfast, Food & Recipes, Location by nicolejanaye on August 20, 2011

It’s not as if I’m continuously boozing the nights away while I’m abroad or that I’m carelessly shoveling my mouth with McDonald’s, but it seems that with each return to the states I sincerely crave an immediate detox. I want to rid my body of all the toxins that I might have consumed while in Italy. I want to flush my system so that I feel more energized, cleansed and obtain a healthier and happier wellbeing.

I was on vacation. A 3 week trip to the beautiful, delicious country of Italy. Turin, Pisa, Florence, Sicily, Cinque Terre were just a few of the many visits I stepped foot on. Let me just admit this; if you currently weren’t aware, I’m a very healthy eater. I eat a hefty amount of vegetables and fruit, drink gallons of filtered water, fill up with protein-packed and fiber-full grains like quinoa. I rarely consume desserts. I just don’t have the cravings for them. I exercise on a daily basis and enjoy taking in many of the numerous benefits of living a healthy lifestyle. However…

This vacation was a different story of how I was going to interrupt my daily lifestyle. I wanted to take advantage of everything I had available to me. I wanted to set aside my traditional eating habits, for once, and feast among some of the incredible food that other parts of the world provide. I wanted to divulge in desserts without feeling the least bit of guilt. I wanted to take joy in a complete vacation and feel happy about it.

So this brings me to the very beginning of the trip. 23 Day Gelato Challenge! Seriously? Uh huh. This isn’t the least bit in my character to even do a week gelato challenge, but this trip was going to be different. I was going to step out of my comfort health box and dive into anything and everything Italian. Keep posted on the blog for the infamous gelato post where I will company each day’s gelato flavor with a reciprocating photo. Trust me, It’ll be a good read.

Not only was I implementing a hefty amount of creamy, dairy-rich gelato into my diet, but I was lavishing in an endless supply of focaccia bread, an infinite assortment of pasta, as well as a complete lack of consideration on the time that I’m consuming these foods. Needless to say, it was all amazing, it tasted great, but I’m more thankful than ever to be back to my traditional food lifestyle.

With that being said, let me introduce the guinea pig of meals that would make its way back into my diet. This was my first healthy breakfast to get my body back on track and feeling better than ever. Before spooning into this lovely treat, I downed quite a bit of lemon water and numerous cups of green tea to get my digestion rolling.

This is a simple yet highly nutritious breakfast full of incredible flavors. The base, which isn’t too visible, is a coconut yogurt. A mountain of fresh blueberries and strawberries find their way to the bowl along with a variety of nuts and seeds. Almonds, pecans, walnuts, pumpkin seeds, chia seeds, and flax seeds are combined with the tart flavor of cranberries. A perfectly ripe banana was the last ingredient to top off this belly-filling breakfast.

It’s been roughly two days since this dish and I’m already feeling internally and externally cleaner, more energized, and lighter on my feet. I had an incredible time out there, but it’s good to be back.

Tagged with: , , ,

Leave a Reply

