muddy footsteps

Dark Chocolate Espresso Vegan Ice Cream

Posted in coffee, Dessert, Food & Recipes by nicolejanaye on June 13, 2011

 There are so many combinations for chocolate. Just chocolate by itself is a beautiful thing. However, this ice cream needed a side kick other than dark, rich cacao. I’ve tried mint in the past and for some reason I can’t make it work. Mint chocolate is one of my favorite sweet combinations on the planet. It just seems to flop whenever I try to create something with it. Chocolate and orange is a beautiful mixture, but it doesn’t do much justice when you have no oranges. Lemon? Hmm..maybe next time. I cross back and forth through the kitchen opening up cupboards and pulling out endless drawers in the fridge, meanwhile a lovely stainless steel espresso machine patiently awaits my arrival.

Ice cream is a fun dish to make. There are endless varieties you can create by adjusting any small ingredient. Nowadays, it isn’t rare to walk into a shop and find an olive oil or wasabi flavored ice cream. People are taking risks and putting a unique spin on a traditional dessert. I love it. Vegan ice cream can be incredibly easy to make. It sounds daunting and that there must be some crazy hippie ingredients in it, but it’s fairly simple. Frozen bananas. These suckers are the key ingredient to a delicious, healthy and satisfying dessert.

Ingredients:

  • 6 frozen bananas
  • 1/4 cup dark chocolate chips
  • 1 shot of espresso
  • 2 Tbl whole espresso beans
  • 1 Tbl almond milk
  • 1 Tbl agave nectar
  • pinch of salt

Directions:

Transforming the bananas from being whole, frozen fruits to an ice cream consistency is easy. There are two different methods that you can choose to use; sending the bananas through a juicer or putting them in a food processor. They both come out roughly the same consistency.

  1. Juice or process your bananas into an ice cream consistency.
  2. Melt dark chocolate chips with the almond milk and then add to the banana mixture.
  3. Pull one shot of espresso and combine to the mixture immediately. The flavor of espresso changes quickly after being pulled. Typically you don’t want to use a shot that has been sitting longer than 15 seconds. Adding the espresso to another substance immediately will ‘save the shot’.
  4. Process or mix the batter for 30 seconds.
  5. Add the espresso beans and process for 1 minute.
  6. Place the ice cream into a freezer safe container and freeze until the mixture has hardened.
  7. Pull it out when you feel you’ve waited long enough and scoop into a bowl. Try smooshing it between two cookies for a delcious treat.

 Baking is such a wonderful thing to be involved with. Not only is cooking and baking something wonderful to experience, but challenging yourself in those fields can be surprisingly fulfilling. Anyone can bake. I believe it. But not anyone can create healthy recipes that taste good. It’s a hard thing to accomplish a balance between valuable nutrition and delectable taste. I truly enjoy experimenting in the kitchen with new ingredients. I enjoy the satisfaction of mastering a dish with so many bountiful nutrients that can heal your body. I love the satisfaction of spooning a bite of food into my mouth and having my taste buds dance on the tip of my tongue. I love it all. That’s why I continue to do this. It’s enjoyable, it’s challenging, and it makes me happy.

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. sandition said, on August 22, 2011 at 3:53 pm

    YUM!!!

  2. Elise said, on August 22, 2011 at 4:32 pm

    This sounds soooooo good! I really want to try this but I really don’t know ANYTHING about coffee. The only coffee/expresso-type thing I have are a couple packets of instant coffee (I think?! LOL) that I took from a hotel I stayed at. Can you help?

    • muddyfootsteps said, on August 23, 2011 at 12:46 pm

      No worries in that area! Coffee sounds tricky but it’s much simpler than you would assume. If you don’t have an espresso maker, french press or standard coffee pot then the instant packets sound like a perfect option. They are small, convenient, and will mix well. I would try using Starbucks VIA packets over traditional instant coffee because I think it will give a better result. Those packets are designed to mix into hot liquids, milk or water, as well as cold liquids. Also, don’t forget the coffee beans. They are cheap and add a wonderful flavor and crunch. Give it a shot! Let me know if you try it out.

  3. Kier at Life {and running} in Iowa said, on August 22, 2011 at 5:25 pm

    Beautiful photos and an amazing recipe!

    • muddyfootsteps said, on August 23, 2011 at 12:42 pm

      Thanks! Once you get a base for raw vegan ice cream there are so many options that you have open to you. Plus, it’s so simple to alter a few ingredients and change it into a completely different flavor. If you try any out, let me know!


Leave a Reply

