muddy footsteps

Salted Maple Walnut Scones-Gluten Free

Posted in exercise, Food & Recipes, gluten-free by nicolejanaye on June 6, 2011

Before we get to this incredibly delicious recipe I should re-cap this past weekend!

I ran my first half marathon ever! I trained with ‘Team in Training’ for 6 months building my endurance and preparing myself for this day. I raised $1,700 for The Leukemia and Lymphoma Society to find a cure for cancer! The morning started not so bright and early at 3am. The San Diego Rock ‘n’ Roll Marathon is one of the biggest races in the United States with over 26,000 runners, walkers and wheelchair athletes coming from all over the country. The course runs through downtown San Diego, Fiesta Island and ends at Sea World. One of the best parts of the race was running on the 163 freeway. It was a unique and exciting experience that not many people have the opportunity to do.

Now, let me tell you, I’m not the typical runner. I don’t really enjoy running, I prefer more physical contact sports like boxing, football and softball. When I did running in the past, it was short sprinting distances. However, running and training with TNT has brought a new light of running to me. I think the more you do it, the easier it becomes and the more you enjoy it. I never would have assumed that it was possible to run without an iPod. Hah. But I’ve developed into a runner that can truly enjoy hitting the pavement with only my thoughts going through my head. I now understand the relaxing and meditative type of feeling that regular runners feel.

I wanted to start the race out at a slower pace so that I wouldn’t get burnt out through the end. I wasn’t running to beat a time or qualify for any other races. So why shouldn’t I slow down a little and take in the entire experience? There were times when all I could do was tear up. There were times when I closed my eyes and took in a deep breath. There were times when I high-fived onlookers as well as other runners. Many athletes write on the back of their jersey’s who they run for; in honor of, in memory of… I wrote in memory of my grandfather who passed away from cancer. It was nice to be able to read the shirts and see why all of these people were out here. Some of the most inspiring shirts were the ones that read SURVIVOR, and even 3x SURVIVOR. It gave me the extra push to keep running. To be in all honesty, I never was tired. This isn’t to say I wasn’t running hard, because I was. But I was distracted from the scenery, the people , the crowds, the hundreds of volunteers and families cheering me on. I ran a negative split in my race and was able to finish faster than I started! I actually had enough in me to sprint the last mile and a half.

It was an incredible experience to be out there with thousands others doing this all for one reason; to kick cancers butt! This was my first race, but definitely won’t be my last. Team in Training raised $9,000,000 alone this year! This drastic and deathly disease will soon be cured! Soon there will be no parents having to bury their child, soon their will be no widows of husbands who lost their battle, soon we will beat this!

Now, I’m not using this post as a way to advertise but I have $245 left to raise to meet my minimum goal of $1,700. With your help, I could get there. I’ve worked my butt off training for this race and fundraising, it would be incredible to hit my minimum and help catalyze the cure for cancer! http://pages.teamintraining.org/sd/rnr11/nmendez89h That is the link to my fundraising page where you can read a little of my story and make an online donation. Anything is appreciated! Now let’s get back to the food.

I’ve always had a yearning for the combination of sweet and salty. Chocolate covered pretzels were not a foreign treat in my childhood. Salt is added to most dessert recipes to help bring out the flavors. It is no wonder that salted caramel or other salted flavors are taking over! For those of you that eat meat, have you ever noticed that dipping your bacon or other breakfast meat in with your maple syrup from your pancakes is surprisingly delicious? It’s this satisfying combination of sweet and salty that makes your tongue dance with flavors. I created a gluten-free salted maple walnut scone. Not only is the title a mouthful but yours will be too after making these!

I had a gluten-free muffin and scone mix in my cabinet that I wanted to do something with. I want to experiment a little on creating my own scone base, but for now I’m sticking with this. I used the brand ‘Gluten-Free PANTRY’ mix and added in my own set of ingredients to transform this dull package of flours and powders to a mouth-watering, finger-licking scone. Let’s take a look.

Ingredients:

  • Gluten-Free PANTRY muffin & scone mix
  • 1 TSP kosher salt
  • 1 Tbl dark brown sugar
  • 3 Tbl chia seeds
  • 3 Tbl ground flax
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup
  • 1/2 cup walnuts
  • 3/4 cup soy milk

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees.
  2. Combine all ingredients together in a medium-sized bowl.
  3. Scoop by 1/4 cup measure onto parchment-lined cookie sheet.
  4. Sprinkle brown sugar and kosher salt on the tops of the scones.
  5. Bake for 15 minutes or until golden.
  6. Once removed from the oven, drizzle extra maple syrup on the tops and serve warm!

Enjoy!

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. haley said, on June 6, 2011 at 9:54 pm

    Really enjoyed reading this post Niki! The face sounds amazing. I’m now training for a half Marathon with my dad and this just helped me a lot. Also,those scones look delicious!

  2. Coach Al said, on June 7, 2011 at 12:45 am

    Fantastic job out there on Sunday Niki! And I think you couldn’t have said it any better……..”…the more you do it, the easier it becomes and the more you enjoy it.”
    All of us coaches are glad you enjoyed it.

    Coach Al


Leave a Reply

