muddy footsteps

Simple dishes- stuffed mushroom caps

Posted in Food & Recipes by nicolejanaye on November 11, 2010

I try to make recipes with a small assortment of ingredients. I’ve learned with green juices/smoothies, it’s better to keep your recipes simple. The more complex you get with your meals, the harder your digestive system has to work to break things down. Ideally, eating one food at a time is best, but who wants to do that? Not only is using a smaller amount of ingredients better for your body, it’s also better for your wallet.

Try this simple take on stuffed Portobello mushrooms. It’s gooey, crunchy, slightly spicy and satisfies anyones craving. 

Ingredients

  • Portobello mushrooms (large, preferably)
  • Corn
  • Red onion
  • Red and green bell peppers
  • Cilantro
  • Almond Jalapeno Jack cheese
  • Spices- salt/pepper, garlic powder, red pepper, and paprika

I found all of my ingredients at Henry’s Farmers Market. The almond cheese is much better than any other soy cheese I have found. It has the same texture as cow’s milk cheese and  still provides the spicy kick of jalapeno’s. It runs a bit more expensive because it is a specialty cheese, but I think it puts this dish over the top.

Directions

  1. Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Sautee the corn, red onion, and bell peppers with the spices. I prefer to use a tablespoon of olive oil for this process, but smart balance butter works just fine.
  3. While your core ingredients are going to work, get a head start on your mushrooms. Pull out the stems and scrape out some of the insides. This works easier when you have a large size mushroom. Plus, the bigger the mushroom cap, the more you can fill inside. Lay them on a grill until the mushrooms begins to slowly soften.
  4. Once all of your ingredients are ready, take the corn, red onion and bell peppers and stuff them into your mushrooms.
  5. Grate a heaping amount of almond cheese on top of the mushrooms.  Stick them into the oven and let cook for 5 minutes or until the cheese has melted.
  6. Remove from  the oven and sprinkle cilantro leaves over the top of your meal.
  7. Enjoy!

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Mariann said, on November 11, 2010 at 5:19 pm

    OMG…this looks too good. I think Scott will eat this.

  2. Bryan said, on December 3, 2010 at 5:26 pm

    Very nice eats—- I like the garlic spread, I’m guessing after cooking it at 300 F for a while, I suppose it takes a little of the potency out of it so it’s not so strong. That dip looks great also. I’m wondering if you have looked at Almond milk instead of SOY because the high levels of estrogen in soy is a problem for mostly men, generally turns them into Girly men, lowers their testosterone, but is a potential problem with cancer also. Fermented soy is okay though.

    Anyway, the last question I have is, Where’s the beef? Just playing!

    • muddyfootsteps said, on December 3, 2010 at 5:44 pm

      Thanks! I try to drink almond milk before soy. The only dairy alternative at work is soy milk so that’s what I go with when I’m in the mood for coffee. Otherwise, Almond milk is by far the choice I go for. Yes, soy does have it’s problems for men and women, so I try to avoid it as much as I can.

  3. Callie said, on September 24, 2011 at 3:43 pm

    I’m making this tonight! I just bought pepperjack Daiya though because almond pepperjack uses casein. =/

    • muddyfootsteps said, on September 24, 2011 at 4:11 pm

      I just read this comment and am extremely shocked about the casein! To be honest, I didn’t really believe it. Well I thought I used a different brand that didn’t have casein in it. Turns out, it does :/ Thanks so much for letting me know. I plan to never use that one again. Let me know how yours turns out! Send a picture!

      • Callie said, on September 25, 2011 at 5:06 pm

        Awww. 😦 I wish they didn’t have casein, I think there are probably a few brands that don’t use it, but I can’t find them locally. I took the ugliest picture ever so…I’ll pass on sharing. (Low quality with iPod lol) But they were really amazing and filling. 😀 I honestly never thought of filling them with these ingredients! So delicious and juicy.

      • muddyfootsteps said, on September 26, 2011 at 2:58 pm

        Awesome! Glad to hear they turned out well for you!


Leave a Reply

