muddy footsteps

post on the run. San Diego, California

Posted in coffee, Location by nicolejanaye on October 20, 2010

 What an ugly week it has been. Fortunately to my benefit, I had this past Sunday off. What better way to spend it than heading down to good ol’ San Diego. I grabbed my sweatshirt and scarf and headed out the door with my camera in hand. It was a cozy, grey day that couldn’t have been more perfect than paired with a couple sips of espresso.

Snooping around at REI was first on the list. Checking out the latest climbing gear and searching through racks of clearance clothes occupied my time, while my dad was checking out digital maps. We left with some maps in hand as well as a couple of raw energy bars to hold us over for the day.

With The Beatles playing in the background, our ride to SD was smooth sailing. We walked around downtown for a while, checking out art galleries, stopping for espresso, maybe a little urban outfitters mixed in there; something like that. Two skirts later and it was time for lunch. We sat down at this cute, little, italian shop; Chocolat. http://www.chocolatsandiego.com/ Salads, crepes, panini’s, and plenty of gelato were served there.  I wasn’t in the mood for something too heavy, so I ordered the Panzanella salad. It did me good. It was a bed of arugula topped with onions, tomatoes, roasted peppers, homemade croutons and a red balsamic vinaigrette. My dad went for an italian style crepe, stuffed with ricotta, spinach & Parmigiano.

We couldn’t leave this place without having a little bite of homemade gelato. Well unfortunately, the small size could only be one flavor and I just couldn’t choose. We bumped it up to the medium size and split the dessert between mint chocolate and a berry sorbet.

We drove around the town a bit, snapped some photos and enjoyed the cozy weather. The rest of the night was eventful; a sweet potato for dinner with sun-dried tomatoes, jumping into my pj’s, and catching up on some reading.

Tata for now!

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Kt T. said, on October 22, 2010 at 11:52 am

    That salad looks amazing! I think I found my Thanksgiving salad recipe! If you have any yummy recipes of making homemade, seasoned croutons, I would love to that posted!


Leave a Reply

