muddy footsteps

muddy treats

Posted in Food & Recipes by nicolejanaye on September 11, 2010

Dig your teeth into these puppies and you won’t be able to put them down. These brownies have become my signature. It’s a fun, quick and easy recipe to make that is healthy and also delicious!

 

Did I forget to mention that these were healthy, great tasting brownies? I actually got this recipe from my grandma (thanks gma!) It’s probably through those 21 years of living where she learned all her secrets.

So let’s get back to business.

Ingredients

  • Brownie mix
  • 1 can of black beans
  • walnuts
  • sunflower seeds

Directions

  1. Blend the black beans with all of the residual liquid from the beans and the rest in the can.
  2. Combine the pureed beans and brownie mix together.
  3. Pour into a cooking pan and bake.

I’ve made a few different batches of these brownies by throwing in different ingredients. I’m on the road to trying to make a healthier version of these by decomposing the brownie mix and choosing healthier ingredients. Raw cacao will definitely be in the mix. I do use organic black beans but I understand that the juice that I keep with it holds a lot of sodium. Generally if I ever use canned black beans, I rinse them first. Monday night I’m going to try twisting things up a bit with some apple juice. I think bananas might work well with these brownies but I will leave that for another time.

I’m thinking that the juice from the beans, that I will remove, can be replaced with fresh squeezed apple juice. It will also give it an added sweetness that I’ve been looking for. I will keep you all posted on how it turns out.

Leave a Reply

