muddy footsteps

Do something you enjoy

Posted in Location by nicolejanaye on August 6, 2010

I lie in the shade of one of the most incredible beaches of all Europe. You need a break from the sun sometime or another. I´m in the midst of tackling my lineup of books. Eat, Pray, Love is the one I´m working on now. The combination of living in Spain, or all of Europe nonetheless, and reading this book has got me thinking.

Europeans and Americans live completely different lives. Even though I don´t follow the spanish news about what´s going on throughout the world, I understand what´s happening in Greece and bound to happen in other parts of Europe. This being said, what´s my point?

Our lives our precious and short, should we spend the majority of our time constantly working, thinking about work, and preparing our future careers? I believe I´m a fairly responsible person who understand the importance of working hard. However, since being among fellow Europeans, I see another way of living. Another way where you´re not living off the government, expecting all life essentials from them, but also not feeling bad about taking two weeks off of work to vacation to a remote island.

I was running with a friend back in Madrid a couple of weeks ago and this conversation was brought up. I asked what his opinion of Americans were. He used this quote to explain, “we live to work, where Europeans work to live”. I couldn´t agree more. Americans lives are solely consumed on work. From the age of 15 most kids have already begun small jobs to help fill up their piggy bank. I´m not arguing completely against this because I think it allows children to grow up responsible. However, when we come home to our families, going on vacations with friends, or are away from our work business, I think we should leave work behind.

Life IS too short to constantly have work on our minds. Enjoy your family, your friends, and what the rest of the world has to offer. Don´t feel bad about taking a two-week vacation to do absolutely nothing. That´s  another thing Americans have trouble with; doing nothing. We constantly have to entertain ourselves or others around us.

That being said, work hard but enjoy the time you have off. Work for a company or business that you are happy with. Why be stressed at a job all your life to make a ton of money, that will sit in your bank account as you rest in peace under the ground. Be happy with what you do and the choices you make.

All pictures are from San Sebastián

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Kellie said, on August 8, 2010 at 11:11 am

    Ah this looks amazing! but i miss you so much!

  2. Kellie said, on August 8, 2010 at 11:18 am

    my name is kellie and im stupid

  3. Kellie said, on August 8, 2010 at 11:18 am

    sorry that wasnt supposed to be there. i love you!

  4. Jaclyn said, on August 8, 2010 at 4:07 pm

    NIK.
    Every word of this makes complete sense. I’m right there with you… its just a matter of actually taking action aka a break. haha I’m really glad you are enjoying yourself and the pictures are amazing (so much character) oh and the ice cream cone below this; kill me now!!


Leave a Reply

