muddy footsteps

days go by

Posted in Uncategorized by nicolejanaye on July 18, 2010

My world cup post is a work in progress, so if you’re wondering why you haven’t seen it, well it’s because precious things like these take time.

Breakfast, reading some books to the kids, playing games that secretly are ways of teaching them english, and more canta juegos. Uhh! Canta Juegos is like ‘The Wiggles’ but spanish. It’s the soundtrack to my life here. It’s always playing. Oh and yes the actors are just as fantastic as the ones in the wiggles.

 Pool.

Siesta.

Run/Yoga. Today was supposed to be my day off but for some reason I wanted to head out to the park. I went straight into yoga. Normally I run first and finish it off with yoga but I wanted to try something new, plus my energy was depleted a bit after swimming with the kids and taking a little nap. I ran and then did about a good 1 1/2 hours of yogastics. A combo between yoga and gymnastics. The basic yoga posses with added handstand, headstands, backbends…I still need to work on my handstands but I can hold a headstand as long as I want. That’s the first time I’ve ever been able to do that! It’s all in the back.

I wish I had a video camera to be able to capture everything going on in my head while I’m at the park. I know I blogged about it just a little bit ago but I can’t get it out into words as well. If you could picture this: You’re a bit tired from a good run, stretched and warmed up, Trevor hall/Norah jones is playing in the background, the wind is blowing, birds are flying over you, your feet are digging into the grass below you, your body becomes exhausted after the run and yoga, so you lay down, your back flat on the ground with your arms and legs stretched out, you close your eyes, taking deep breaths, and you start to float away…

Even in the yoga classes that I’ve been to on countless occasions, I don’t think I’ve ever felt so much at peace as I do in that moment. Maybe that’s why I continue to come back, even on my days off.

I don’t want to ruin the post too much from there but the night is ending well. I had some green beans and roasted red pepper for dinner. Soy yogurt for mid dessert. Finishing off the night with fresh squeezed orange juice and cherries.

 

Goodnight Everyone.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. kaely said, on July 18, 2010 at 10:16 am

    dont forget to say eight million bananas. haha just kidding but to let you know headstands/handstands and backbends are very much a part of yoga. its called inversions. do a hand stand and go into chaturanga. like a push up pose. google it. go snooks! xoxo

    • muddyfootsteps said, on July 18, 2010 at 12:13 pm

      ooh i like that. hand stand to chaturanga. i like your style. i can hold a head stand as long as i want but i still need to work on my hand stands.

  2. G-Ma Clown said, on July 19, 2010 at 4:51 pm

    Well Nikkers, sounds like you are off to a good start on your newest adventure. I wish the very best for you and hope you enjoy your entire time there. Love, G-Ma Clown


Leave a Reply

