muddy footsteps

oh just the beginning

Posted in Uncategorized by nicolejanaye on July 16, 2010

Free drinks for everyone. Well maybe just girls.

The streets at night are filled with workers promoting their clubs, handing out coupons for free drinks. Oh and the street next to the churro shop is filled with plenty of prostitutes. FYI.

You can either enter a club for free and then pay for your drinks or you can pay an entrance fee and get a couple of drinks for free.

I met up with Rina in the city center at midnight. It was a ways away so I jumped on the metro and got over there for only 1 euro. We met up with Ross and his friend Alex. She is doing the same thing we are in Madrid but she has been here for over a year. She is beautiful, smart and so much fun to hang out with. It’s funny but she said she doesn’t know much spanish. I guess the only thing that matters is where all the good clubs are! We went to a couple of clubs and bars for drinks. Hung out for a while and then met up with Alex’s friend, Markus. He’s from Germany also but has a bit of a rough life here in Madrid. He plays video games all day for work. I can’t imagine waking up knowing you have to go to work, sit on the couch all day and play games. I don’t know how he does it. Plus he makes bank. Real determined guy he is.

We then proceeded to the club. It was only 1am so it was still a little empty. It was drum and bass night. I”m not sure why but I’ve never heard of drum and bass. At first it seems a bit difficult to dance to and get the hang of the beat but after a couple of hours and some strong drinks in your system, you will figure it out.

This club was different than others, maybe because it was drum and bass, but it wasn’t all girls and guys grinding. Everyone was dancing with everyone and not caring about anything else. Alex was telling me that’s one thing she loves about Germany; people don’t stare or judge when you dance. They are there JUST to have fun.

I know all clubs have them. Creeps. Well he managed to find me. I don’t mind meeting someone and start dancing with them, but when you jump behind me and do more than dance, then I’m not into it. I pushed him away and Markus noticed what was going on. I’ve never had a big brother but at that moment I felt like Markus was mine. I couldn’t help but smile how he handled it all. The rest of the night Markus made sure to have my back when the guy came back.

4 hours later, bodies damp from the sweat on our skin, feet and legs as sore as could be; we were ready to head out. Apparently in England after a night out, you go with your mates to grab some kebabs. But you can’t say kebabs with an american accent, it has to be english. So start this paragraph over and do that!

We couldn’t find any but we managed to walk a mile to a pizza stop. Some ate, some didn’t. Some departed ways and then the rest of us walked towards home. Ross, Alex and I live somewhat in the same area so we headed in that direction. We got to a point to split, they went there ways and I grabbed a taxi. 7 euros later I was home. Managed to get up the stairs just fine. Wash my face, brush my teeth and pass out.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. G-Ma Clown said, on July 16, 2010 at 10:57 am

    Okay Miss Nikkers, just be darn careful of what and who you see and do. I don’t want you to end up as a statistic!!!!!!! Have a good time, but please please be alert.

    • muddyfootsteps said, on July 17, 2010 at 1:24 am

      My computer is messed up right now. It must have a virus because all of my files are shortcuts. This means that any pictures I have on my hard drive or my memory card from my camera can not be used. I need to go bring it in and get it fixed. That’s why I haven’t been writing too much on my trip because I want to be able to post the pictures.

  2. Mom said, on July 16, 2010 at 4:25 pm

    Ditto G-Ma


Leave a Reply

