muddy footsteps

night out with a brit

Posted in Uncategorized by nicolejanaye on July 10, 2010

Finally I was able to take my first real night out on the town. I’ve only been back to the city for a couple of days since backpacking so I haven’t had the chance to go out. Cristina, my host mom, and her friend set up a little thing for me to meet up with a guy from England. He is actually doing the same thing I am here, teaching kids english. However, his spanish is perfection where my needs tons of working on. Previously, he went to Ecuador for 9 months to teach kids there. What an experience. A traveling man; I like it.

Anyways he called the house and we decided to meet up at a big lake. Well neither of us know what each other looks like so that was a little difficult.  The lake is large and hundreds of people were out at that time, but we managed to find each other. He was a lot of fun and I really enjoyed myself last night. We met up at 730pm and I didn’t get home till 230am. Long night. We walked around a lot and checked out the city. He has been here for a couple of weeks so he knows the area more than me. He says that Brits are great with directions so make sure to marry one. Haha! I don’t think I will marry one just for that, maybe just for the accent 😉

We stopped at a couple of places for beers. They seemed pretty cheap to me actually, 2 euros each. At our last bar, he ordered me an espresso with baileys. So delicious! I don’t know what they do with their espresso but it’s nothing like the states.

An hour or so later we started to walk around more. Well the park, that provides easy access to get home, was closed. So we had to walk all the way around it. The only thing was we were going in the wrong direction. He thought we were headed towards my place but we went the complete opposite way. (I thought brits were supposed to be good with directions 😉 ). It was fun though, I enjoyed myself. We ended up at his place and he grabbed me a cab to head home. Next time we are dressed properly, we will hit the clubs.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. G-Ma Clown said, on July 10, 2010 at 5:18 pm

    Hey Nikkers!!! How about some comments on your recently completed trip? I’d love to hear how you enjoyed Europe. G-Ma Clown

  2. The Brit said, on July 27, 2010 at 10:59 am

    It was a really good night – Glad you enjoyed yourself. Who exactly do you blame for the marathon around the park that night eh? I think we can agree it wasn’t the fault of my British directions… Mehhhh

    • muddyfootsteps said, on July 27, 2010 at 12:46 pm

      Well I’m using my excuse of only being in Madrid for a couple days and I didn’t know the lay of the land. 🙂


Leave a Reply

