muddy footsteps

Rough life

Posted in Uncategorized by nicolejanaye on July 6, 2010

Rough life I live here. I wake up around 9ish every morning. I normally wake up a lot earlier (I used to work at 5 in the morning everyday) but it’s because I go to bed so late now. I guess midnight-1am isn’t too late for most people but I’m more of the ‘early to bed, early to rise’ kind of person. Around 6pm and later is the only time I can really keep in touch with people back home so I try to use that time wisely. Getting back to my point…

I wake up, get cleaned up and then have some breakfast. Breakfast is always fresh squeezed orange juice paired with either some fruit or bread and olive oil. The pool doesn’t open till 11 so I hang with the kids until then. They are obsessed with this musical dvd that keeps them very distracted.

Off to the pool from 11 till 2. That tires them out but also me. I have to change them constantly and have to make sure that no kid has more juice (zumo) or snacks than anyone else. Always has to be the same (mismo).

After that it’s back to the house for lunch. Fatima has lunch waiting for them. We all eat and then it’s nap time. About time. We all pass out for a good couple hours. I normally take that time to shut my bedroom door, update everything on the computer, skype/IM with my friends or family. It’s time for us all to recharge.

Then after that the kids get up, have some snacks and get changed for the pool again. We go to the pool for a couple of hours, normally until 830pm or later. Then back to the house for dinner then bed (for the kids). The adults don’t normally eat with the kids but a couple of hours after. Last night I had dinner with Javier, Cristina, and Felipe (my running partner!) at midnight.

Felipe is a good family friend and took me out to show where a good spot to run is. I’m somewhat out of shape and he pushed me pretty good. He is not a fan of doing abs so after our run I made him do some with me.

After dinner I hid (escondido) back in my room, talk with some people and then head to bed and get ready to start over the next day.

I’ve only been here for a couple of days but that’s pretty much the plan from here on out. Cristina and Javier (my host parents) said ‘speak english from 10-1 and spanish the rest of the night! I’m learning spanish so quickly and the rest of the family is extremely helpful in making this process quicker.

The kids are already at the pool with Fatima so I need to change and head over! I will try to update more later.

Ciao!

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. JenW said, on July 6, 2010 at 9:26 am

    It’s been a while since I’ve had a chance to catch up with you and I’m just blown away! What an amazing experience and your photos of the kids are adorable! I’m tempted to buy myself a plane ticket right now. 🙂 can’t wait to read more about your time there.


Leave a Reply

