muddy footsteps

Which path?

Posted in Uncategorized by nicolejanaye on April 25, 2010

I want to first off talk about a topic that has been on my mind.

I don’t create my blog to persuade people or make them change how they live. I write my blog to give ideas, offer substitutes and show people a different way of living. I’m a vegan. It’s a decision that many people might not agree with. I don’t criticize people for eating meat, dairy or wearing fur and I believe people shouldn’t make judgements on how I choose to live.

However, I do have strong opinions about certain topics and will offer advice. If people are curious about what I eat, or ways to better their life than I will be more than happy to help!

Blogs aren’t a mandatory thing that people have to read. People read them because they want to. So I’m assuming if you are reading this then you understand why I write. You understand that I’m not forcing you to believe a way but giving you the opportunity to open your mind to new things.

Sir Francis Bacon stated “Knowledge is Power.” I couldn’t agree more. You don’t have to agree with everything you read but if you know both sides to a story then your support becomes stronger.

Think back when you were in highschool and your english teacher told you to write counter arguments in your essay. There was a reason behind this. Allowing your readers to see that you have an understanding of both sides to a story lets them believe that you fully grasp your topic. This also gives them the opportunity to make their own decisions.

This somewhat lead me to a split in the road.. When you become so passionate about something, you begin to feel the urge to show the world and let everyone know your feelings. Activists you call it. Any type of strong activists has supreme opinions towards something and does everything in their nature to persuade people and let the world hear what they believe.

I almost began walking down this path. I constantly read books on meat, dairy, vegan, raw, or anything nutrition/health related. A couple of months after I became vegan, this passion grew within me. I wanted people to know what was wrong with animal products and the harm it effects on our society.

But thankfully a long chat with my mom changed a big move I almost made. From that day I learned that I’m not here to force ideas down someones throat or tell them what they are doing wrong. I have no place to judge people with how they choose to live. This isn’t saying that I don’t have opinions, I’m just saying I have no place in telling people what they do wrong. Who knows? I’m sure there are people who completely disagree with how I live, what I eat and even what I wear; but they have no place to tell me what to do or who to be

I found the right path and I’m happy with where I am.

I’m here to share my opinions, but in no means force them on you.

 

Leave a Reply

