muddy footsteps

H20+Food=No bueno

Posted in Health/Nutrition by nicolejanaye on February 25, 2010

There is much debate about this topic; drinking water with meals or after meals. “Water helps the body absorb the nutrients and break down the food”, “Drinking water with a meal or after a meal dilutes the digestive juice”, “Drinking cold water is not good for you”

We should not be drinking water with or right after a meal. It is true that drinking water disrupts the digestive juices going on in your body. You should stop drinking water about 20-30 minutes prior to eating and wait at the least 30 minutes after a meal. I try to wait longer if I eat something that takes longer to digest.

After:

Fruit–> 30 minutes

Vegetables/Salad–> 1 hour

Grains/Legumes–> 1 1/2 hour- 2 hours

I used to drink water constantly. Mainly before meals and after them. Once I learned this I transitioned right away. At first I forgot about the water rule but then I caught on. Although I believe my body is digesting the food easier I tend to drink less water in a day. It’s easy to forget to drink water when you normally have it with meals. So what I try to do now is drink a large quantity of water in the morning when I wake up. That also helps clear out my system for the day 🙂 I also drink a good amount of water at night. I don’t recommend this too much because you will probably wake up in the middle of the night needing to use the restroom. I either wake up in the middle of the night or ready to go in the morning. I don’t mind either. Do what works for you.

Cold water=No good

This is my opinion and what I have heard from many other people. Like I said, mixing water with food has created much debate.

Cold water slows down the digestion even more than room temperature water. The cold temperature helps the oils in the food solidify. When the stomach acid and the solidified oils meet they are digested sooner than your food; leaving your food in the dust and sitting longer in your stomach.

Note to take home:

  • Drink lots of water
  • Drink upon rising and before bed
  • Stop drinking water 20 minutes prior to a meal
  • Wait 30 minutes (at the least) after consuming a meal to drink water
  • Drink pure water!
Leave a Reply

