muddy footsteps

grubbin

Posted in Food & Recipes by nicolejanaye on January 19, 2010

I got some young coconuts the other day and wanted to use the coconut water in a recipe. Coconut water is the liquid found inside the coconut. Many people confuse this with coconut milk. Coconut milk is the water and the ‘meat’ blended up. I decided to use it with rice to add a little exotic flavor.

Not the most exciting picture but it tasted good. I topped it off with a little bit of cinnamon and pumpkin spice.

  1. Cracked open the coconut
  2. Took a few swiggs of the water
  3. Poured the rest in a pot with rice. (Put in enough water to cover the rice about 1-2 inches)
  4. Boiled it
  5. Once boiled, lower the temp.
  6. Cover it and let simmer.
  7. Let rice sit for 10 minutes.
  8. Fluff the rice with a fork.
  9. Enjoy!

My sister bought some pizza dough from trader joes and has been putting together some good looking pizzas. She left me some to make a pie of my own. I  didn’t have many ingredients left in the house so I tried to be creative with what I had.

I always have black beans stocked up in the house. I opened a can, rinsed and drained them. I like to rinse them until the water runs clear. A lot of the sodium is in the liquid that comes in the can. People may agree that the liquid adds flavor but I would have to concur. I took about half the beans and mashed them up with a fork. To the beans I added marinara sauce, olive oil, oregano, basil, salt, pepper, and lots of garlic.

Next I attempted to roll out the dough. Apparently I’m not cut out to be a pizzaioli. However the dough looked really good after it was cookin for a little bit. Before putting it into the oven I put olive oil on top with some rosemary. The oven was set at 450.

Lastly I added the sauce to the top of the dough, sprinkled on corn and more black beans. I put it back in the oven for around 20-25 minutes.

VIOLA!

 

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Martin De Luna Jr. said, on January 19, 2010 at 11:47 pm

    Nifty! This looks like a neat idea.


Leave a Reply

